Lost – Woolworth Building (1949)

woolworth.jpg
[U.T. Center for American History]

woolworth1.jpg

TIME Magazine, “Eight-Million-Dollar Baby”, Dec. 5, 1949

~ by Houstorian on February 16, 2007.

14 Responses to “Lost – Woolworth Building (1949)”

  1. I used to go to Woolworth’s when I was a child. My mother always went shopping in downtonw Houston,since that was before malls.(oh, Gulfgate Mall) forgot about that one..anyway, we would hit the downtown Foley’s, and sit at the lunch bar and eat. They also had a pet dept. Nothing like the good ole days!

  2. I remember the candy counter at Woolworth’s. And wasn’t the LC Cafeteria attached to it?

  3. LC Cafeteria was under the Rice Hotel?

  4. For anyone interested, I found today a two records, 12″ 78RPM record set (home recording style, metal audiodisc records) of the grand opening of this store. I couldnt believe I found these images of the exact ‘largest woolworths int he world’ store in Houston. The records are the KCOH radio broadcasts discs, dated 11/17/49 . Great pieces! I hope to record them to MP3’s soon, and would be glad to share these wonderful recordings with this website.

  5. On 29 AUG 1963, my uncle Leo Simpson, and a coworker from Pasadena, Texas were painting the air conditioning duct 10 stories up, outside of the adjacent Chamber of Commerce Building when their hoist collapsed. They both landed on the roof of this building.

  6. LC Cafeteria was located one block North of Woolworths under Walgreens Drugs, with two street entrances via stairs and escalator only. One was on Walker the other on Travis. In pre KFC days one of their specialties was Colonel Sander’s Kentucky Fried Chicken. Indeed the Colonel himself made a promotional visit there in the fifties and gave out his “secret” recipe as part of the promotion. As for Woolworths, in the days of Jim Crow there were two lunch counters in Woolworths, white on the main floor, colored in the basement, both on the North side of the store.

  7. M.G. as reguards your post of Oct 29, 2K10 as time permits might U clarify w/more detail as to correct location for LC Cafeteria as there seems 2 be some conflicting data w/your research when x referenced w/detailed map of downtown Houston (circa 1940) that list ALL known merchants @ that time.

    The map shows (2) Walgreens as folows: 1 located in the 300 block @ the S/W corner of Main & Preston w/entrances possible from both str’s., and another located in the 800 block @ the S/E corner of Main & Walker.

    City Directory for 45/46 does not list an LC Cafeteria downtown.

    Respectfully
    Danny

  8. When I was a child, my mom, my grandfather and I would eat at the LC (Lower Cost) Cafeteria on Sundays after church. As I recall (and this was a long time ago), it was billed as “the world’s largest cafeteria.” I don’t remember how many serving lines there were, but, obviously, there were a lot. I vaguely remember eating there when I was in junior high, maybe in high school, in the 1950s. You could get a complete meal for a buck or less!

  9. My parents made trips to Houston from Bridge City, almost every month when I was younger! This would be between 1962-1976. We ate at the L&C every time we went to Foley’s Downtown, to shop! They had at least two serving lines, if not three. It was the largest cafeteria, at least in the South, that I knew of. I loved when we sat over by the outside garden where the tall glass windows were. It was only on one side as the other walls were into the ground. That garden area had natural light coming in from the upper outside level. Great food, good service and terrific prices! Miss those days greatly!

  10. My mother and I would take the Studewood bus from the corner of Studewood and 10th on Saturday travel down White Oak Drive to Houston Avenue. Go to Woolworths to buy fabric and ribbons, yes I too loved the per section. Then we would Eat Lunch at the LC Cafeteria. It was a gret Saturday that I still remember. I loved riding the escalator down.

  11. OMG WHAT GOOD MEMORIES OF WOOLWORTH AND L AND C CAFETERIA IT WAS ALWAYS SO DARK IN THAT CAFETERIA GUESS CAUSE IT WAS IN THE BASEMENT NOW WE ARE GOING TO LOOSE FOLEY’S BUILDING TOO THEY HAD THE BEST BAKERY THERE MY MOM ALWAYS GOT OUR BIRTHDAY CAKES THERE

  12. Lc cafeteria. Wow it was great I went there as a child and later inthe 70’s and 80’s L would go there and buy their jambalaya to go. I have yet to find anywhere else that makes it as good. If it were still open I would make the trip to eat there again.

  13. Does anyone know the name of the bldg. next to the Woolworth?

  14. Wonderful whip! I would like to novice even while an individual fix your web site, how to register for any blog site internet site? The particular profile helped me a new appropriate cope. I used to be tiny bit common in this the transmitted furnished vivid transparent notion

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

